Much of Mumbai is Experience

Day 1

The Arrival

Drizzle was by my side when I reached Bombay Central. The purpose of my visit was not to gaze at slate sky or get lost in the swarm. However, not everything runs according to your wish. Next few minutes whizzed past as if to send a chill reminder of what it takes to commute at peak hours. Thursday it was and locals were in no mood to make way for your not-so-firm countenance. My confidence suffered a quake the moment swarm of bees took the train hostage.

Let’s not stretch the struggle.

As I was wobbly walking along the streets of Andheri, weather turned even more luring. I was a new bird, but with a travel case tied to its hands. Queues of different geometrical shapes were gauging my confusion. So many outlets for passengers but where are they going? Their waiting is vivid and it continued as the city came to standstill during a long spell of shower.

It is one thing to extol downpour, quite another to hop on the streets after the tears have fallen.

Day 2 

Setting: In and Around Mumbai

Weather: Rollicking

Mood: Somewhat Chirpy

Leopold Café was a surprise package. The café had moved on ever since veiled gunmen planted bullets on the walls. Of all the dishes, chicken sausage stood out. Its neighbor, The Taj Hotel, was too imposing to generate interest. Heading towards Marine Drive was a decision I would never regret. Walking along the stretch makes oneself wonder at the boisterous waves. Girl friends and their boy friends (of all ages) discuss survival and sift through their dreams. Lanky umbrellas of different races give hem silent company. They must have seen the rise and fall of many love stories. I gathered from the locals that the place gets into its colour as night sets in. I left the place hoping for a late night encounter next time.

Day 3

Setting: Mumbai at large

Weather: Showy Overcast

Mood: Pensive in patches

Bandra Band Stand is where we camped late in the afternoon. I stood facing restless waves until the sky turned crimson. Behind me were placid churches. They graced the promenade running parallel to the sea. After a dose of silent divinity and sprinkle of Holy water, we moved forth. A hurried ride to Candies and I was all chuckle. Diffused lights, spirited drinkers and old friends decided the evening’s fate. A dizzy walk in the drizzle and suddenly the city was the last place I would like to leave.

By next morning I was back to me sober self.

Thanks to my sobreity that I realized safety is not an over-rated word in Mumbai and night does not stage a coup against lovers of good life. Mid Day tabloid tempts you with a drama show that starts as early as 9:45 in the evening. Food joints suffer from insomnia, much to people’s delight.

I don’t know if I have fallen for the city.

2 thoughts on “Much of Mumbai is Experience

  1. Ur Describtion of the City of Dreams is so enchanting that reading your descriptions people would fall in love with the city…. Yes It is a city where life starts after sunset.

Leave a Reply

